National Sports Awards 2016


National Sports Awards 2016

Hello Friends,

Here we have given the details about the National Sports Awards 2016. Candidates those who are all preparing for the IBPS PO/Clerk examination can use this material.

National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports.Based on the recommendations of the Committee and after due scrutiny, the Government has decided to confer awards upon the following sports persons/ coaches/organizations:

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

It is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four years

Name of the awardeeDiscipline
Ms. P.V.SindhuBadminton
Ms. Dipa KarmakarGymnastics
Shri Jitu RaiShooting
Ms. Sakshi MalikWrestling

Arjuna Award

It is given for consistently outstanding performance for four years

Name of the awardeeDiscipline
Shri Rajat ChauhanArchery
Ms. Lalita BabarAthletics
Shri Sourav KothariBilliards & Snooker
Shri Shiva ThapaBoxing
Shri Ajinkya RahaneCricket
Shri Subrata PaulFootball
Ms. RaniHockey
Shri Raghunath V.R.Hockey
Shri Gurpreet SinghShooting
Ms. Apurvi ChandelaShooting
Shri Soumyajit GhoshTable Tennis
Ms. VineshWrestling
Shri Amit KumarWrestling
Shri Sandeep Singh MannPara-Athletics
Shri Virender SinghWrestling (Deaf)


Dronacharya Award

Given for coaches for producing medal winners at prestigious international sports events

Name of the awardeeDiscipline
Shri Nagapuri RameshAthletics
Shri Bishweshwar NandiGymnastics
Shri Sagar Mal DhayalBoxing
Shri Raj Kumar SharmaCricket
Shri S. Pradeep KumarSwimming (Lifetime)
Shri Mahabir SinghWrestling (Lifetime)

Dhyan Chand Award

Given for life time contribution to sports development

Name of the awardeeDiscipline
Ms. Satti GeethaAthletics
Shri Sylvanus Dung DungHockey
Shri Rajendra Pralhad ShelkeRowing

Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar

It is given to the corporate entities (both in private and public sector) and individuals who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development.

CategoryEntity recommended for Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar, 2016
Identification and Nurturing of Budding and Young Talent
  • Hockey Citizen Group
  • Dadar Parsee Zorostrian cricket club
  • Usha School of Athletics
Encouragement to sports through corporate social responsibilityIndia Infrastructure Finance Corporate Limited
Employment to sportspersons and other welfare measuresReserve Bank of India
Sports for DevelopmentSubroto Mukherjee Sports Education Society


Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy

It is given to Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments

Punjabi University, Patiala

The awardees will receive their awards from the President of India at a specially organized function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29, 2016.

Apart from a medal and a citation, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee will receive a cash prize of Rs.7.5 lakh.  Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs.5 lakh each.  Recipients of Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar will be given Trophies and certificates. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments will be given MAKA Trophy, award money of Rs. 10 lakh and certificate.

(Visited 433 time, 1 visit today)