Article 356: President Rule


Article 356: President Rule

Dear Sehpaathians

We are here with the explanation of Article 356 which is popularly known as President Rule.President Rule is imposed in the case when a state where constitutional machinery has failed and state government is unable to function as per the constitution.In a president rule the state assembly is dissolved and the rule of the state comes in the hands of the governor. In case of Central government, the Lok Sabha is dissolved and the rule of the country goes into the hands of the president.

Imposition Rules:

  • If the majority party refuses to form the government and becomes an obstacle in the way of minority government
  • If the law and order completely breaks down due to internal or External voilence
  • If there is no possibility of a stable government even after 2-3 attempts
  • If the state government doesn’t comply with the directions given by the union government

Here is a history of President rule in this country

  • President rule has been imposed in this country for a total of 126 times with the maximum being at the time of Indira Gandhi (35 times)
  • In November 1954 the first president rule was imposed in Andhra Pradesh
  • President rule became a frequent affair only after 1967 general elections
  • President rule being necessitated by break-up of coalitions are Kerela (1979,1981,and 1982), Odisha (1961 and 1971), Punjab (1968), Tripura (1979) and Uttar Pradesh (1970)
  • In 1994 in the S.R. Bommai V Union of India Case, the misuse of Article 356 was curtailed, so the supreme court established strict guidelines for imposing president rule.

Every state in India expect 2 states Chattisgarh, Telangana has been under a state of emergency at same point of time or the other